Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth *Alexa’s Review*

Posted February 26th, 2015 by in *Review / 0 comments

banner-review(1)Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth *Alexa’s Review*Four: A Divergent Collection Series: Divergent
Also in this series: Allegiant, Insurgent
Format: Hardcover
Read in: January 2015
Add to: Goodreads

Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling DIVERGENT series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—THE TRANSFER, THE INITIATE, THE SON, and THE TRAITOR—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the DIVERGENT trilogy.

4 Stars

After the high of Allegiant I new I wanted to jump into this story so I could get some more of Four!

I have to say I found this collection to be a good story and it was easy and quick to read but I’m not sure it added a whole lot to the series as a whole. I guess I went into it wanting more of an after Allegiant story instead of a before scene.

I felt like the stories told here just told us a longer version of all the stuff we already knew. Sure it was nice to actually see the impact that Marcus had on Four and it was nice to see Four try to rise above that but we already know that he does these things. I have to say the one thing I did like from the collection was that we were able to see Four’s interactions and how he first struggled in a new faction and what he tried to do to make things better. I also liked seeing him make friends because in the series it doesn’t seem like he has many friends but here we get to see him joke around and be a little younger and a little more free of problems at some stages which was a nice balance to Four’s character from the series.

Overall, this didn’t add much for me but it was a good read with a few interesting snippets here and there that added some value to Four’s overall character.



Leave a Reply

Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to leave a link to your posts below your comment!