Baby Doll by Hollie Overton *Alexa’s Review*

Posted September 22nd, 2016 by in *Review / 0 comments

banner-review1-300x127Baby Doll by Hollie Overton *Alexa’s Review*Baby Doll by Hollie Overton
Published by Redhook
Genres: Thriller/Suspense
Format: ARC
Add to: Goodreads

For fans of Gone Girl and Girl on the Train, Baby Doll is the most tense thriller you will read this year.

Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt unlocked.

This is what happens next...

...to her twin sister, to her mother, to her daughter...and to her captor.

3 Stars

Most people don’t know this but I really love thrillers. I really hate horror movies or things that are too scary but I like a good thriller movie. I enjoy when women are put in bad situations and have to fight the system to get out of them. I feel that these types of stories give you a rush and make you appreciate just how strong women can be when they fight for their lives or rights. I really wanted a slightly creepy factor in with the suspense.

When this novel started I really enjoyed it because Lily was captive with her daughter and they were trying to escape. I really loved this beginning because it felt real, creepy and powerful. You were worried that their captor was going to show up at any minute.

After the beginning I do have to say this novel got pretty boring. Since Lily and her daughter were free there wasn’t really any suspense or creepy factor to this one. Instead it was about Lily and her family trying to understand how to move forward individually and together as a family. They had to work through so many emotional issues and addictions. I felt that Lily made it through everything too easily. It felt like she didn’t really struggle at all, instead she seemed to have it more together than her family which is strange since they weren’t held against their will for 8 years.

Overall I thought this was more of a drama with boring issues that seemed easily solved. I missed the creepy factor as well as anything thrilling. I wish this book took place during the time Lily was captive and just a little of her escape because the way it was was pretty boring.

Alexa

Divider

Leave a Reply

Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to leave a link to your posts below your comment!