Review: Sarah Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan

Posted July 26th, 2014 by in *Review / 0 comments

banner-review(1)

Review: Sarah Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlanSarah Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlen
Published by HarperCollins
Genres: Children's Books, Historical
Pages: 76
Format: eBook
Source: Personal Collection
Add to: Goodreads

"Did Mama sing every day?" Caleb asks his sister Anna.

"Every-single-day," she answers. "Papa sang, too."

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love. - via GoodReads

3 Stars

It’s been several years since I’ve read Sarah Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan. I’m trying to go back and read some of the books that I’ve read in my childhood. (You’d be surprised at how different you feel reading them as an adult!) For one thing I don’t’ remember this book being so short! It was teeny tiny. It lacked so much of the detail and plot that I’m used to now. The story is still a very sweet story and is based on events in the author’s ancestor’s lives. While Sarah, Plain and Tall didn’t rock Adult Stephanie’s socks, it still holds great nostalgic value!

Stephanie

Divider

Leave a Reply

Enter your URL in the website field, then click here to leave a link to your posts below your comment!